home | articles | The International DJ Spice          [1917 page views]
The International DJ Spice
By Soca News
Trinidad & Tobago
Friday 18 February 2011 : 1:39 GMT

The International DJ Spice, (Calvin Collins), a name known to many, will once again make the annual pilgrimage from the U.S. to a place he calls home to partake in what we call the greatest show in the world: Trinidad & Tobago Carnival. We wanted to know what he would be up to whilst in Trinidad.

How long have you been a DJ?
29, almost 30 years.

What was your earliest memory of Trinidad carnival?
I was very young, and my mother was playing mas with Peter Minshall. My dad took me to see her on the road.

Which soca tune has special Trinidad Carnival memories for you, and why?
Shadow's tune, Stranger. It talks about someone coming to carnival and having a ball. I love it, ’cause i try to spread the word about Trinidad’s carnival. When he sang it in Soca Monarch that year, the vibes was crazy!

How is Trinidad Carnival 2011 shaping up for you so far?
Very good as usual. Booked in a lot of parties - and it is always good to be back home.

What are you most looking forward to?
The all-inclusives.

Who do you think will win the Power Soca Monarch?
Either Iwer with Come To Me or Machel with Advantage.

Who do you think will win the Groovy Soca Monarch?
Benjai with Trini.

What are your favourite tunes so far for Carnival 2011?
Destra’s Cool It Down and Machel’s Advantage.

Which one artist has impressed you most this carnival?
So far from videos: Machel.

What gigs can we hear you playing at during the season?
So far i have been confirmed for:

Sun 27 Feb   Flight Cruise Sea Treasure Queen and Land
Tue 1 Mar      Fall Out & SS Wassy Boatride Treasure Queen
Thur 3 Mar     Harvards Sports Club
Fri 4th Mar     Anchorage
Sat 5th Mar   Dream Fete on Maracas Beach & Ramajay boat ride on Treasure Queen
Sun 6 Mar     Sunnyside Up
Mon 7 Mar     J’Ouvert - Big Band Jungle Fever / On the road with YUMA
Wed 9 Mar    Moore Entertainment Boat Ride
Thur 10 Mar  Big and Strong Boat Ride Treasure Queen.

Come Carnival Tuesday, what will you be doing?
Playing on a truck for YUMA.

To find out more about DJ Spice log on to for all events, music, videos and more.

Machel Concert to Take Soca Beyond the Next Level
Thu 20 Aug 2015
Kerwin Du Bois - From kaiso’s son to soca don
Tue 18 Aug 2015
David Rudder - All hail the king!
Mon 17 Aug 2015
Follow Us
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Youtube
Share On Pinterest
Click to Listen
An appeal from the Cutlass Team
Mon 30 Nov 2015
Happy 49th Independence Day Barbados!
Mon 30 Nov 2015
Ah! Hard Rain preview
Mon 30 Nov 2015
Get Fused 2 with Socaholic
Tue 24 Nov 2015
T&T’s Carnival Institute extends its reach
Mon 23 Nov 2015