home | articles | Houston Caribfest is Happening          [1056 page views]
Houston Caribfest is Happening
Houston Caribfest is Happening
By Soca News
United States
Tuesday 28 June 2011 : 11:24 GMT

While Americans are getting ready for Independence celebrations, Caribbean natives in Houston and other parts of Texas are gearing up to indulge in Houston Caribfest....AKA Houston Carnival.

For those who may be unaware, this is the 9th year of Carnival celebrations in Houston, which has been attracting and increased number of Caribbean natives from throughout Texas the rest of the United States of America and the Caribbean.

Carnival celebrations will run from Wednesday 29 June through till Monday 4 July 2011 ending with Caribfest Cooldown at the Lake. The Parade of the Bands will take place on Sunday 3 July at Tom Bass Park and will feature Steelbands, a parade of floats, dancers, art & craft and live entertainment to name a few.

However, no Caribbean Carnival is complete without live entertainment by some of the best known Caribbean artists who include; Lord Nelson, Kes The Band, Edwin Yearwood and Krosfyah, Iwer George, Lyrikal, Tony Prescott, Rupee, Ragga, T-Rock and Rikki Jai among others will be featured in various events during Caribfest.

Some of the major events scheduled to take place during this fast growing festival are:

29 June - It's Camoflage

30 June - The Official Wotless Ultra Glo Affair

1 July - Jouvert

2 July - It's Baytown Comes Alive for the First Time

3 July - Parade of the Bands on Sunday at Tom Bass Park

3 July - Insomnia afterwards Caribfest Cool Down

Machel Concert to Take Soca Beyond the Next Level
Thu 20 Aug 2015
Kerwin Du Bois - From kaiso’s son to soca don
Tue 18 Aug 2015
David Rudder - All hail the king!
Mon 17 Aug 2015
Follow Us
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Youtube
Share On Pinterest
Click to Listen
Don’t throw away our Carnival history
Thu 1 Oct 2015
Triniboi Joocie is ready for the Las Wuk
Fri 25 Sep 2015
Iconic car returns to the Caribbean
Wed 23 Sep 2015
Sunshine in the rain
Fri 18 Sep 2015
Dominica: After Erika came Grace
Fri 18 Sep 2015