home | articles | AJ’s Tent back for Jubilee Weekend          [1445 page views]
AJ's Calypso tent founder - De Admiral
AJ’s Tent back for Jubilee Weekend
By Natasha Ofosu
United Kingdom
Saturday 19 May 2012 : 12:45 GMT

Reading-based AJ’s Calypso Tent returns for an impressive 11th year on Sunday 3 June.

Nine calypsonians, including tent founder Jeff Hinds (De Admiral), will entertain and enlighten an anticipated sold-out audience at the tent’s home in South Street Arts Centre. The artists will be backed by AJ’s All Stars band and the Kaiso Gems.

Since 2002, AJ’s Calypso Tent has become an integral part of Reading Carnival, taking place one day before the street festival. It has also proved a fertile breeding ground for junior calypsonians. This year the carnival celebrates its 35th anniversary and falls within the festivities marking the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee.

Tickets for AJ’s Calypso Tent cost £7.50 or £5 concessions. Patrons are asked to be seated by 7.45pm for an 8pm kick-off.

The full cast are: G-String, De Admiral, Dave B, Dame Polly, King Clivus, Cereal, Princess Nnikah, Aqueedah and Savannah.

For further information call 07930 907 354 or email [email protected]

Machel Concert to Take Soca Beyond the Next Level
Thu 20 Aug 2015
Kerwin Du Bois - From kaiso’s son to soca don
Tue 18 Aug 2015
David Rudder - All hail the king!
Mon 17 Aug 2015
Follow Us
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Youtube
Share On Pinterest
Click to Listen
Get Fused 2 with Socaholic
Tue 24 Nov 2015
T&T’s Carnival Institute extends its reach
Mon 23 Nov 2015
Triniboi goes MAWD on his new video
Sat 21 Nov 2015
Oxford’s carnival sets a date and seeks a director
Fri 20 Nov 2015
High Wycombe honours its pan pioneers
Thu 19 Nov 2015